Borgers with No Borders.

our lives, our loves — through our earthly adventures.

Self-Reliance.

“Self-reliance is the only road to true freedom.”
~ P. Sampsom

Some of you might start thinking that I have either gone psycho or am heavily into drugs.  No.  I am neither of those.  I am just home-sick.  Now I realize that spending two months of the summer vacation has its minor drawbacks.  But hey, I’m not complaining.  I just want my ensaymadas.

Huh?  Did anyone just say ensaymadas?  Again???  Are you still on that page?  Hasn’t your craving already been satisfied by two dozens of them coming all the way from New York?

(Take a deep breath….)

Nope.  I’m afraid not.

I did a whole lot of research on the good old web for the perfect recipe that would match the ones in my dreams.  (Not that the ensaymadas of Chari didn’t match my dreams.  They did.  Only I would be a fool to ask her for the recipe!)  Turns out, the daughter of a friend who just finished her “stage” days at Alain Ducasse’s resto here, has a friend who has a (supposed) killer recipe on hand.

I am truly blessed.  How these things just happen to fall on my lap is a good sign.

I knew I could not keep ordering ensaymadas all the way from California and having them shipped over to me in Paris, right?  I knew I could not keep begging my sisters to send me some.  I knew my hubby would not dare ask his airport friend for more.  I knew.  I knew I just had to be … SELF-RELIANT! Because it is only when one is self-reliant that he is truly free!  At least that’s what they say.

So off I went into the kitchen this morning to cook up a storm.  My first attempt at making my very own, self-reliant, from the heart, ensaymadas.

Lesson # 1:  Freakin’ don’t ever try to cook ensaymadas using muffin pans.

Lesson # 2:  Try and try until you are happily and securely self-reliant.

I’m not there yet.  As you can see from the pictures.  But I will not give up.  And when I do get it right, by golly, I will share with you my very own, labored-on, tweaked, tried and tested recipe of my self-reliant-making-ensaymadas.

Someone is hiding some secrets which I have yet to uncover.  Like:  How do you keep the grated cheese from not falling off the top of a round ensaymada like that?

Stay tuned.  :)  I promise I will be back.

P.S.  I just ordered 12 brioche molds.  Then I’m back to the kitchen!  :)

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Self-Reliance.

  1. WOW. this looks even better than the stuff that AB carried back home for you! way to go, sis! i volunteer to be your taste-tester! :D

  2. Honestly, this blog is just so fattening. I haven’t thought about ensaymadas for years and now you’ve planted it in my head.

  3. I like your new blog design, btw!

    • Carmela on said:

      Thanks, Cainds. I’m trying to be a serious blogger, just like you! :) Maybe one day I might learn to write too. :)

  4. Anonymous on said:

    Awesome start Carme…. would love to try it too… or will patiently wait for your tweaked and perfected recipe. I love your tenacity and ‘just do it’ attitude.

    Btw… I was thinking about your question regarding how to keep the cheese from not falling on the sides…. wrap it in cello….hehehe…… just a thought.

    PS…. so what cheese did you end up using?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

